On Saturday the Cricket Summer league continued with Melita C.C taking on Overseas. In their first encounter a couple of weeks ago, Overseas were thrashed.

Overseas won the toss and batted first with Paul Bradley and Benny Maree opeing th batting. Bradley was first to go after making six runs. Maree went on to make fifteen runs. Mike Caruana batted for forty balls and retired making thirty runs which included three fours. D.Hurley batted well for twenty three runs. Phil Gibbs scored thirteen runs which included two fours. S.Morrison chipped in with seven runs. Earlier Sean Byrne was caught by a diving Adam Krishna for two runs. The Overseas team totalled a mere 122 of there overs. For Melita Adam Krishna, Edward Manning and James Thompson all took two wickets each while Glen Tavilla and Tim Wheeler took a wicket each.

In reply Glen Tavilla and John Grima opened the innings. Tavilla was looking to make the runs on his own scoring twenty two runs of eleven balls which include three fours and a six, the Overseas players were happy when he edged a ball to the keeper. Grima made fourteen runs when he smashed the ball back towards the bowler (Paul Bradley) who simply took the catch with one hand, the umpire was happy because he would not of had enough time to move out of the way. Tim Wheeler played a patient twenty one runs before being caught. Edward Manning (nine runs), Matt McKeogh (three runs) and Derek Ali (twelve runs) all fell to the Overseas  bowlers which increased the belief of a win.

Adam Krishna who was dropped early in his innings went on to make the run which drew the game. Next ball he was caught (twelve runs). Josh Alan who was facing the next ball with practically all fielders around the bat hit a ball straight to a fielder and was dropped.  The following ball he made no mistake and made the winning run. It was the Overseas best game so far and earned their first point in the competition. Melita earned fifteen points and are second to Marsa while Krishna are third.


Next weekend we have the returning Australians, Cricketers of New South Wales who will be playing two games and a third game on the following Wednesday.