Hibernians are the new Malta champions.

Needing a win to seal their 12th championship with a game to spare after Balzan dropped points in a 1-1 draw against Ħamrun Spartans, the Paolites duly completed the job after beating St Andrews 3-1 on Sunday afternoon.

Bjorn Kristensen fired Hibernians ahead after 14 minutes at the National Stadium but St Andrews equalised five minutes later. St Andrews’ goal failed to jolt Hibs’ momentum as the leaders restored their lead thanks to Brazilian midfielder Jackson Da Lima Siqueira.

Jorginho’s goal, 21 minutes from time, kickstarted Hibs’ title party as Mark Miller’s team are now four points clear of Balzan.

Hibernians will be officially crowned champions on Saturday at the end of their derby against Tarxien Rainbows.