B’Kara F.C. and Malta International midfielder Paul Fench, was today named as MFA’s Footballer of the Year for Season 2012-13.

The announcement and presentation were made during the MFA Awards Ceremony held at the Malta Fairs & Convention Center in Ta’ Qali on Friday. The 26 year old was one of the stalwarts in B’Kara’s engine room and was instumental in helping them to clinch their fourth league champions title in history. A league campaign during which Paul had a total of 30 appearances and scored 3 goals. Fenech also forms part of Malta’s senior national team squad and made his international debut in November 2009 in a home match against Bulgaria and has so far managed to obtain 16 caps for his country.

Paul Fenech is only the second player hailing from the club to have won the prestigious award. To win the award Paul Fenech obtained a total of 53 points, followed by teammate Gareth Sciberras on 49 points, last year’s winner Clayton Failla (Hibs F.C.) on 45 points, Edward Herrera (B’Kara F.C.) on 40 points and Justin Haber (B’Kara F.C.) on 12 points.

Other main awards presented on the night were;


Coach of the Year PAUL ZAMMIT Birkirkara F.C.
Young Player of the Year BJORN KRISTENSEN Hibernians F.C.
Foreign Player of the Year IGOR CORONADO Floriana F.C.
BOV First Division Best Player BEU ERJON Lija Athletic F.C.
BOV Second Division Best Player MAURICIO OSMAR BRITTO RODRIGUES Zebbug Rangers F.C.
BOV Third Division Best Player TIMOTHY THOMAS Senglea Athletic F.C.
BOV Women’s League Best Player DORIANNE THEUMA Mosta F.C.
Best Youth League Player LLEWELYN CREMONA Valletta F.C.

Top Scorer Awards

BOV Premier League JOSE LUIS ARMARIO NEGRIN Rabat Ajax F.C. / Melita F.C.
BOV First Division League RAPHAEL ALAIN KOOH SOHNA Pieta Hotspurs F.C.
BOV Second Division League OSI LUCKY AGBOEBINA


St Georges F.C.

Zebbug Rangers F.C.

BOV Third Division League TIMOTHY THOMAS Senglea Athletic F.C.
BOV Women’s First Division League YLENIA CARABOTT Hibernians F.C.
BOV Women’s Second Division League RODIANNE ZERAFA Raiders (Luxol)

Fair Play

Overall Fair Play Award PEMBROKE ATHLETA F.C.  

President’s Award

MFA President’s Award 2012-13 COTTONERA UNITED NURSERY  

The public was given the opportunity to vote for the Best Goal of the Year with the goal scored by Rowen Muscat   winning this category.